A Bone’s Story / Historia ósea

D. P. Snyder
10 min readAug 10, 2021

--

I wrote this essay in both Spanish and English and so I present it here in both languages for a bilingual readership. Entry for #MwcDeath— D.P. Snyder

I see an unusual object lying on the ground under the mossy branches of the sugar maple, a small moon-colored scythe. It is a bone. I pick it up and tremble to see its whiteness on the pink flesh of my palm. I estimate that it measures about seven inches from end to end. It has six teeth anchored to its upper edge. They are the efficient grinders of a ruminant and I conclude that it is the jaw of an adolescent deer. Observed from above, the teeth are reminiscent of barnacles, the tiny marine animals that cling to the shadowy hulls of ships. But unlike those arthropods who organize themselves in cozy family circles, these sturdy soldiers line up in single file, disciplined even in death.

I take the jawbone home to examine it more closely. I place it on a paper towel on my kitchen counter. Then, I wash it, first with soap and then with a brush to remove the last, dry bits of cartilage. I leave it submerged in a pot of water on a very low flame to complete the cleansing. I go to my desk.

I lose track of time when I write. I can’t cook without setting the timer or things get ruined. I am embarrassed to admit how many times I’ve had to scrape a black crust off the bottom of a saucepan. Today I forget to set the timer and that’s how I find out that the smell of burned bone is the same as that of singed hair: pungent, acrid, from beyond the grave. I curse myself when I see the brown stains that my inattention has inflicted on the jawbone. This sort of accident brings the worst out of me. I can become a crazy person, smacking myself on the head with my own fists, yelling, and accusing myself of being stupid, stupid, stupid. Damn it to hell. In those moments I cannot endure the worst sin of my human condition: the lunatic desire to leave nothing as it is. But this time, perhaps out of respect for the bone, I manage to control myself.

A deer jawbone in vertical position shows the marks of vultures.

Regretfully, I submerge it in a bowl of warm water with a few drops of chlorine. A better life with chemicals, as they say. We turn to them whenever we need to overcome the terror of our own ferocity, our failures and weaknesses, when we become overwhelmed by life and death. With a pill, we can change the existential channel. The jawbone whitens little by little except for two light stains where once the deer’s moist tongue brushed against its molars to taste the grass, the tender spring leaves, my hydrangeas. The bone will never again have the same soft, linen color achieved by the collaboration of sun, rain, bacteria and the passage of time. But I console myself with the thought that injuring something is just another way of understanding it and making it your own.

On the lower edge of the jawbone there is a series of gashes like tally marks made with a penknife. They must have been engraved there by whoever left the bone beneath the tree. The grooves are deeper in the part near the joint, the hinge that once moved the bone smoothly up and down in the skull. It was the meatiest part, sweet and succulent. Who ate the deer? I write who and not what because any distinction between humans and other feeling animals is inexplicable. It wounds me, like someone saying my mother isn’t my mother, my sister not my sister. I write with pen and paper; they tell their stories with bone and fang.

Or beak.

Vultures are universal because they are universally necessary. Those that live in my little town in the piedmont of North Carolina are cousins to the South American condor, vultur gryphus, the largest flying bird in the world. The condor is legendary, the symbol of the Andean people in their centuries’ long struggle against the Spanish bull. But despite its rock star status, the condor has not been able to save itself: there are less than seven thousand left in the world. Our vultures here are numerous and plebeian, the size of fat turkeys. But they are endowed with the same specialized tool that their more famous cousin has: a sturdy beak tipped with a sharp hook, perfect for picking little bits of meat from a cadaver, made to carve bone.

The vultures gather in a dead, white sycamore tree in the field across the street from our house. We see a dozen or more of them there at a time, dark, curved figures that wait in the naked branches like a panel of judges. When they see a corpse, they circle in the sky above the hollow where we throw the weeds from our garden. There, we also laid out the raccoon my husband killed with a club last year when the animal was beating our dog in a fight. The next day, the vultures celebrated the arrival of their unexpected bonanza by tracing dizzying circles in the sky, then descending on the carcass like a spiral of dark smoke being sucked back into a chimney. They finished off the racoon in a matter of hours. What efficiency! It still amazes me that the man I love could kill like that, that his first instinct was to interfere in the conflict. Naturally, I sympathize with his decision to defend the animal we both love. I even thanked him. But was it right to take away the dog’s relevance and the raccoon’s chance for a fair fight? In the matter of imposing the death penalty, human beings are almost always in the wrong.

We depend upon the savagery of domestication for our sustenance, the sterile impersonality of the industrial slaughterhouse. The vultures, on the other hand, wait until an animal is dead to tear him apart and engrave their hexagrams on his bones and in that fact lies their moral advantage. Nevertheless, my neighbors hate them. They chase them from their gardens. They shoot at them. They complain that they are disgusting with their bald, reddish heads, their muscular bodies, their funereal plumage. They detest them despite the free service they provide to us dragging the bodies of the creatures we run over with our cars off the streets, making our victims disappear in a flash. We judge them harshly because we can’t bear to contemplate our own skeletons, our habitual cruelty, or the ungrateful and savage way we inhabit the planet. A vulture is a silent reproach that watches us with the cold eye of an oracle.

Search as you will, you will never find a vulture ‘s bones tossed away on the ground, much less his beak. I know because I’ve looked. Perhaps it is their only blessing that they do not have to suffer the embarrassing overexposure of becoming carrion themselves. When a vulture dies, he leaves the earth whole, and his feathers paint the night sky so that it never loses its dark splendor. As for me, I don’t eat meat anymore. I will eat it again when I can do so with the integrity of a vulture.

This bone I weigh in my hand is a sliver of light, a text that I read and transcribe in my own way. Now that the deer has stopped grinding plants with it and the vulture has carved his poem on its surface, I keep it in my library along with my other books. It is a more eloquent text than this essay, which is only its fractal, the way a leaf is an echo of the tree.

Historia ósea

D.P. Snyder

Veo un objeto insólito tirado en el suelo debajo de las musgosas ramas del arce: una diminuta guadaña de color lunar. Es un hueso. Lo recojo y me estremezco al ver su blancura y desnudez en la carne de mi palma. Calculo que mide más o menos siete pulgadas de punta a punta. Cuenta con siete dientes anclados a su borde superior. Son los molinillos eficientes de un rumiante y llego a la conclusión de que es la mandíbula de un venado adolescente. Desde arriba, los dientes recuerdan a percebes, aquellos seres marinos que se aferran a los cascos sombríos de barcos. Pero a diferencia de esos artrópodos que se organizan en íntimos círculos familiares, estas muelas recias se alinean en fila india, disciplinadas aun en la derrota.

Me lo llevo a casa para observarlo más detenidamente. Pongo el hueso sobre una toalla de papel en el mostrador de la cocina. Luego lo lavo, primero con jabón y después con un cepillo para quitarle los últimos restos secos del cartílago. Lo dejo sumergido en una olla de agua sobre un fuego muy lento para completar la limpieza. Voy a mi escritorio.

Es que me pierdo al escribir, ¿sabes? No puedo cocinar sin poner el reloj automático o las cosas se arruinan. ¡Las veces que he tenido que raspar una corteza negra del fondo de una cacerola! Hoy se me olvida poner el reloj y así es que me entero de que el olor a hueso quemado es igual al olor a pelo encendido: picante, acre, de ultratumba. Me maldigo al ver las manchas marrones que mi desatención ha infligido en la mandíbula. Esta clase de accidente saca lo peor de mí. Puedo volverme una loca capaz de golpearme la cabeza con los puños, gritar, y acusarme de tonta, tonta, tonta. Maldita sea. En esos momentos no puedo soportar el peor pecado de mi estado humano: el deseo descabellado de no dejar a nada tal cual, alterar el paisaje, crear jardines ordenados, recoger huesos y esterilizarlos. Pero esta vez, quizás por el respecto que le tengo al hueso, logro contenerme. Apesadumbrada, lo meto en un tazón de agua tibia con unas gotas de cloro. Una vida mejor con las químicas, así lo dicen. Recurrimos a ellas siempre que necesitemos vencer al terror de nuestra propia ferocidad, nuestros fallos y debilidades, cuando la vida tal como es nos abruma. Con una pastilla, podemos cambiar de canal y dejar de ver. La mandíbula se blanquea poco a poco salvo dos manchas leves donde una vez la lengua húmeda del ciervo rozaba sus muelas al saborear el pasto, las tiernas hojas de primavera, mis hortensias. El hueso nunca volverá a tener el mismo tono suave de lienzo elaborado por la suma del sol, la lluvia, las bacterias y el paso del tiempo. Pero me consuelo al pensar que lastimar algo es sólo otra manera de comprenderlo, de hacerlo propio.

En el borde inferior de la mandíbula hay una serie de tajos como unas marcas de conteo hechas con una navaja. Seguro que fueron grabadas por quien dejara el hueso debajo del arce. Las ranuras son más profundas en el área cerca de la articulación que antes sostenía la mandíbula en el cráneo del animal. Debe haber sido la parte más carnosa. ¿Quién comió al ciervo? Escribo quién y no qué. Es que cualquier distinción entre las personas y otros animales sensibles es inexplicable para mí, me hiere como si me cortaran un miembro. Como si dijeran que mi madre no es mi madre, mi hermana no es mi hermana. Escribo con pluma y papel, ellos con colmillo y hueso.

O con pico.

Los buitres son universales porque se necesitan universalmente. Los que habitan mi pueblo en el piedemonte de Carolina del Norte son los primos del cóndor sudamericano, Vultur Gryphus, el ave voladora más grande del mundo. El cóndor es legendario, símbolo del pueblo andino en su lucha de siglos contra el toro español. Pero a pesar de su estatus de rockstar, no ha sido capaz de salvarse: quedan menos de siete mil cóndores en el mundo. Nuestros buitres son muchos y plebeyos, del tamaño de un pavo gordo, pero están dotados con la misma herramienta especializada que tiene su primo más celebrado: un pico robusto equipado con una punta en la forma de un gancho afilado, hecho a la medida para sacar trocitos de carne de un cadáver y para tallar hueso.

Los buitres se congregan en un difunto sicómoro blanco en medio del gran descampado cruzando la calle de nuestra casa. Los vemos allí de una docena o más a la vez, figuras oscuras y encorvadas que esperan en las ramas desnudas como un panel de jueces. Cuando ven algo que les interesa, dan vueltas en el cielo arriba de la hondonada a donde lanzamos la maleza de nuestro jardín. Dejamos ahí también al mapache que mi pareja había matado con un garrote cuando el animal estaba venciendo a nuestro perro en una pelea. Entonces los buitres celebraron la llegada de la inesperada bonanza dibujando vertiginosas espirales en el cielo. Luego descendieron sobre el cadáver como una voluta de humo oscuro de regreso a la chimenea. Acabaron al mapache en una cuestión de horas. ¡Vaya eficiencia! Todavía me extraña que el hombre que amo pudiera matar así, que su primer instinto fuera entrometerse en el conflicto. Claro, compadezco su decisión de defender al animal que amamos. Hasta se lo agradecí. Pero ¿fue correcto quitarle al perro su protagonismo y al mapache su derecho a una batalla justa? En la cuestión de imponer la pena de muerte, los seres humanos casi siempre nos equivocamos.

Dependemos del salvajismo de la domesticación para nuestro sustento, la impersonalidad estéril del matadero industrial. Los buitres, por otro lado, aguardan hasta que el animal se muera para despedazarlo y grabar sus hexagramas. Y en eso queda su ventaja moral. Sin embargo, mis vecinos los odian. Los espantan de sus jardines. Les disparan. Se quejan de que sean asquerosos y feos con esas cabezas rojizas y calvas, los cuerpos musculosos, el plumaje fúnebre. Los detestan a pesar del servicio gratuito que nos brindan de arrastrar fuera de las calles los cadáveres de animales que aplastamos con nuestros coches, de hacer desaparecer en un plis-plas lo que asesinamos tan casualmente. Juzgamos duramente a estas aves porque no podemos enfrentarnos al terror del esqueleto propio, a nuestra crueldad habitual, ni a la forma ingrata en que habitamos el planeta. Un buitre es un reproche callado que nos observa con la mirada friolenta de un oráculo. Busques como lo busques, nunca encontrarás los huesos de un buitre tirados por ahí, mucho menos su pico. Tal vez sea su única bendición que no tienen que sufrir la vergonzosa sobreexposición de convertirse ellos mismos en carroña. No, cuando muere un buitre se va entero de la tierra y sus plumas pintan el cielo nocturno por lo que nunca pierde su oscuro esplendor. Por mi parte, ya no como carne. Volveré a comerla cuando pueda hacerlo con la honradez de un buitre.

Esta mandíbula que sopeso en mi mano es un trozo de luz, una lente, un texto que leo y transcribo a mi manera. Ahora que el ciervo ha dejado de comer con él y el buitre ha tallado su poema en la superficie, lo guardo en mi biblioteca junto con mis otros libros, un texto más elocuente que este ensayo que es su calco del mismo modo que la hoja es la imagen especular del árbol.

--

--

D. P. Snyder

D.P. Snyder writes short fiction and essays and translates literature from Spanish. She is on the web at www.dpsnyder.us.